Crepes!

When I was 19, a few friends and I spent a couple weeks in Europe, and as part of that trip, we spent 4 days in Paris. While Paris, for many reasons, is not my favorite city, they do have fantastic food, and I sincerely regret that we did not experience more of it.

case in point

Besides this amazing omelette at a side walk cafe in Montmartre, and the most amazing french vanilla ice cream you will ever…. EVER have, the crepes were  to die for.  The best part about it?  They’re street-cart food!  For some reason I have this insane affinity for street-cart food when I travel, I just love the idea of going up to a tiny little cart and ordering something quick and delicious – but ask me to do that in SLC and I’m a little bit hesitant.  The crepes that I had were by no means sophisticated but who doesn’t love a simple raspberry jam or nutella and banana filled crepe?

My first experience at attempting to make crepes myself, was a spectacular failure!  Katie and I were attempting to surprise a friend with breakfast on her birthday but the first dozen or so crepes didn’t turn out right – too thick, too thin, burned, broken, you name it, it happened.  I just assumed that crepes were one of those things that I would have to leave to the professionals… until a few days ago.  As I think about how easy it was to make them this time, I realized that the reason we failed last year was because we were using a pan that was too large, we weren’t correctly measuring out the right amount of batter, and we weren’t evenly distributing the batter.  The results: rubbery pancake like crepes ≠ awesome.  Anyways, enough of my chatting here’s the recipe:

Crepes

adapted from not without salt, a fabulous food blog

2 large eggs

3/4 cup milk

1/2 cup water

1 cup AP flour → I used 1/2 c. unbleached ap flour and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour

1 tbs. brown sugar

3 tbs. melted butter

1/4 tsp. salt

butter/cooking spray for coating pan

-combine all ingredients and whisk until completely smooth (some recipes suggest blending the ingredients in a blender but mostly I think that’s stupid. It wasn’t that difficult to whisk it all together, but by all means do whatever you prefer).

-let batter chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge.

– heat a non-stick pan (I used a 8 in. skillet), add butter/cooking spray to coat.  Pour ~ 1/4 cup (depends on the diameter of your pan)  batter into center of pan & immediately swirl to spread evenly.

-cook 45 seconds & flip cooking an additional 20 sec. → If you have a decent non-stick pan and/or you properly greased it, you’ll know to flip the crepe when it no longer sticks to the bottom.

– fill with whatever filling (I used vanilla yogurt and strawberries and sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top).

Easy and delicious!

Bon Appétit!

-Tope

P.S – We would love to know who is viewing our blog, and how you came to find it so please leave a comment!

P.P.S – this is also not the post we told you to wait for

Leave a Reply

