The Joys of Procrastibaking

You would think since I’m graduating in May, that during the 5… that’s right 5, years I have been in college I would have developed decent study skills.  Well I can tell you that that isn’t the case.  I don’t know if it’s just me, but every time I sit down to study I suddenly HAVE to wash the dishes, or do my laundry, or lately, I have to bake.  I tell myself “If I just bake this one batch of cookies, muffins, cup cakes, chocolate souffle, etc, then I’ll have fuel to start studying.”  Well recently, in an effort to avoid studying for physics, I made some super simple, super delicious, honey whole wheat bagels.

When I first came across a recipe for bagels I was a little surprised.  It never really crossed my mind that you could make bagels.  Which is silly considering it’s simply bread.  So I looked around and found a recipe that contained ingredients that I already had on hand.  If you’ve never made bagels before, you should give them a shot!  Plus, if you actually look at the ingredients list for store bought bagels, it’s a little appalling.  Who needs more high fructose corn syrup in their diet?

Procrasti-baked Honey Whole Wheat Bagels

(from heavenly homemaker)


4 – 4.5 C. Whole Wheat Flour

1 pkg. yeast (2 1/4 tsp)

1.5 C. warm (not hot) water

3 tbsp + 1 tbsp. honey

1 tsp salt

(5 ingredients, how easy is that?!)

  • Preheat oven to 375F.Stir together 2 C. flour, salt, and yeast.  Add warm water and 3 tbsp. honey (I mixed the honey in the warm water to dissolve, though I doubt that makes a difference). Gradually stir in remaining flour.Dump mixture out and knead until dough is smooth and elastic
  • Cover the dough in a greased bowl and let rise (originally recipe said to let rest for 10 min. but I let mine rise for about an hour)
  • Divide dough into 12 equal parts.  Set timer for 20 minutes and begin shaping each piece of dough into a ball. 
  • Stick your fingers into the center of the ball and pull it apart to create a 2 inch hole. –> (alternatively, you can roll the ball into a snake, wrap it around your hand, and pinch the ends together, while the first method is faster, this method creates a more uniform bagel –  up to you)
  • Lay bagels on a greased cookie sheet. Continue until all bagels are formed and let sit until timer goes off.
  • Broil bagels for 2 min. on each side
  • Meanwhile, bring a big ot of water to a boil.  Stir in remaining 1 tbsp. honey.  Place 4-6 broiled bagels into the water, turn the heat down and simmer for 7 min.  flipping half way through –> (did you know bagels are boiled?  I certainly didn’t but apparently this creates the crust!)
  • Let bagels drain on a towel then bake for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown –> mine only took 15-20 minutes so keep an eye on them!

Tah-Dah!  You have just made yourself some bagels!  There are numerous ways to make bagels, some call for letting them sit overnight, others suggest boiling for only 30 seconds.  Regardless of what recipe you use, it is ridiculously simple to make.  Plus, who doesn’t love the smell of baking bread?

Next time I make these it would be nice to have some home made jam to accompany them.

Happy Procrasti-Baking,

Tope

Comments
One Response to “The Joys of Procrastibaking”
  1. Looks good Tope!!!!

    Haha, I need to be writing my ISP paper….but I would like to try these sometime!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Katie Hobbs

Leave a Reply

