Berries with a Tantalizing Ricotta Dip

Need a fun way to use those frozen berries outside of the classic smoothie option?

I have had some frozen raspberries for awhile because they were purchased with the intention of using them for of course smoothies!

Alas, I never got around to making smoothies, but the other day I was thinking that I needed something to do with the leftover ricotta cheese that I had.  After looking up some quick and simple recipes I saw a recipe that inspired me! I could use my leftover ricotta for a dip to put my raspberries on top!

I found the recipe at epicurious.com and you can click here for the original.

Whipped Ricotta with Honey and Mixed Berries

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole-milk ricotta cheese (the fresh ricotta is less grainy, and the fat content doesn’t necessarily matter)
  • 4 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
  • 4 tablespoons sugar (I added just a bit more for just a slightly sweeter flavor)
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the berry preparation

  • 4 cups mixed fresh berries (such as blackberries, raspberries, and halved strawberries)
  • 2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

I used raspberries and just let them thaw on the countertop while I prepared the ricotta cheese.

Preparation

Blend ricotta, cream cheese, 2 tablespoons sugar, honey, and vanilla in processor until smooth. Transfer to bowl. Cover bowl and refrigerate until ricotta mixture is slightly set, about 2 hours. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep refrigerated. Stir before using.)

Combine berries, lemon juice and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar in large bowl; toss to coat. Let stand 30 minutes at room temperature.

Divide ricotta mixture among 6 wineglasses. Top with berries and serve.

 

This is soooooooooooo delicious as a quick snack, as a dessert, whatever! So tasty!

 

See you in the Kitchen,

Raspberries with a Ricotta Cheese Dip

DELICIOUS!

 

Katie Hobbs

 

Comments
One Response to “Berries with a Tantalizing Ricotta Dip”
  1. It looks really good Katie! love mom.

Leave a Reply

