Peanut Butter Pie with Chocolate Crust

One of my absolute favorite desserts has got to be a Peanut Butter Pie.

My first introduction, as far as I can remember, is a Peanut Butter Silk Pie that I had from a Perkin’s.  Actually, my most awesome  cousin was working at a Perkin’s in Minnesota and I visited her at work and ordered a slice of pie.  Wow.  I was hooked. Thanks Anna!

Since I have made a few and each time I lose my recipe, so I always end up looking for more recipes.

This one below however is pretty darn delicious, I must say.

I took two different recipes and put them together.  I took the filling from one and the crust from the other! Genius!

These two recipes can be found at Jif.com and at Grouprecipes.com.

Below is what I did!

The Chocolate Crust

Do this first – as it needs to bake.  I have never made a chocolate crust before, but I loved this!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 3 tablespoons cold water

Set oven to 450 degrees Farenheit.

Combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter.  The mixture will look like crumbs.  Add water one tablespoon at a time, mixing together.  The dough should hold together.  Flatten and put in the fridge for 30 minutes.  Take out and roll on a floured surface.  Transfer to a 9-inch pie pan and trim excess.  Leave about 3/4 inch on the side to tuck under the pan.  Pinch to shape the edge and make sure to make holes with a fork in the bottom and on the sides to let air escape while baking.

Unbaked Pie Crust

Unbaked Pie Crust

`

Bake 8-10 minutes.

Baked Chocolate Crust

Baked Chocolate Crust

The Peanut Butter Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1 (8oz) package of cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 12 oz whipped topping (Cool Whip)
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of milk

Mix together softened cream cheese, peanut butter.  Add in milk.  Then fold in the whipped topping.  Your filling is done!

I melted some chocolate and poured a layer into the bottom of the chocolate crust (this does make it harder to cut, but so good!).

Then fill the baked pie crust with your peanut butter filling.  Using the melted chocolate drizzle over the top of the pie and if you like, drizzle a little melted peanut butter over the top as well to your heart’s content!

Peanut Butter Pie

Peanut Butter Pie

And of course, enjoy!

See you in the kitchen,

Katie

Comments
2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Pie with Chocolate Crust”
  1. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  2. Kim wright says:

    Mmmmm looks very yummy! Makes me want to make it right now!

Leave a Reply

