My First Couscous

At the beginning of the week, I dabbled in the art of cooking couscous.

I had purchased couscous a while back at our local Whole Foods Market, however I did not really know what I was going to do with it.  I only remember couscous from a box when my pops would occasionally make it at home.  It was always delicious with flavors like garlic, Parmesan, etc.  This time I wanted to try it on my own.

At first, I was confused as to how I simply needed to cook it.  It seems that couscous cooking can be a rather involved process.  It must be steamed, requires special pots/pans, and whatnot.  Come to find out that most couscous (even at Whole Foods in bulk) is sold already steamed with all the pre-preparation done for you! YES! So, I had pretty much purchased the instant stuff, just had to flavor it myself.  It turns out it is actually pretty easy!

On to figuring out what to do with it then!

I found this recipe from the Food Network.

Roasted Corn and Garlic Couscous

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 4 ears fresh corn on the cob or about 2 cups frozen whole kernel corn
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup uncooked couscous
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onions
  • 2 tablespoons chopped pimento (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Coat a large baking sheet with cooking spray.

Wrap garlic cloves tightly in foil and place on prepared baking sheet. Arrange corn on baking sheet next to garlic and sprinkle corn with the salt. Roast for 15 to 20 minutes, until garlic is soft and corn is golden, turning every 5 minutes to prevent corn from burning. Unwrap garlic and mince. Slice kernels from corn cob.

Combine garlic, corn kernels and chicken broth in a medium saucepan. Set pan over medium-high heat and bring mixture to a boil. Stir in couscous, remove from heat, cover and let stand 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork and stir in green onions and pimento, and toss to combine.

Notes: I just added green onions, no pimento. Turned out pretty tasty, but perhaps could use a little more flavor with whatever you choose.  Also, since this was my first time with couscous, I thought that I was going to need to use more chicken broth; so I added about an extra 1/3 cup; not a good idea, made it a little mushy; trust the original amount :D!

For the play by play (in a loose kind of a way)!

Peeled Garlic

Peeled Garlic

Corn and wrapped garlic ready to be toasted

Corn and wrapped garlic ready to be toasted

Chicken Stock

Chicken Stock

Measuring out the couscous

Measuring out the couscous

My green onions

My green onions

Way cool tip: You can grow green onions FOREVER; just use original (purchased or grown in garden over summer) green onions, save the white bulbs, place in cup with water, put in a place that receives regular sunlight (such as a window), watch grow, and use green onions ALWAYS!

I keep two cups (working on finding nicer ones!) of green onions in a window, and using a scissors cut off green onions as I need them! I will not have to purchase green onions as long as I keep these!

Roasted Corn and Garlic Couscous!

Roasted Corn and Garlic Couscous!

See you in the kitchen!

Katie

Leave a Reply

