Classic Sour Cream Cheesecake

This is probably the BEST and most AMAZING dessert that my Mom makes.

I know that you always say “My mom makes the best…”, but seriously this is the best cheesecake I have EVER had.  It has spoiled me for every store bought, restaurant-purchased cheesecake out there.  It is made with a lot of love.

I am not sure where the original recipe comes from, but my mom has perfected it over the past 20 years.  It is simple, creamy, and I like it best at room temperature.

After a few attempts of making this (and somehow messing it up), I finally was able to learn and cook with mom again and it came out just how I remember it!

Thanks Mom!

Classic Sour Cream Cheesecake

Ingredients (for the crust):

1 ½ cup crushed graham crackers

2 Tablespoons melted butter


3   8 ounce cream cheese – room temp.

1   14 ounce can Sweetened Condensed Milk

4   Eggs

1   8 ounce container sour cream

1   Tablespoon Vanilla extract

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine crushed graham crackers and melted butter – press firmly on bottom of 9 – inch spring form pan. 

In large mixer bowl, beat cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk together until smooth. Beat eggs in one at a time, and then add sour cream, then vanilla – mix this until all smooth. Pour into pan with the graham crackers. 

Bake for 55 minutes – no more no less. Take a cake pan put water in it (about 1 inch of water)  set this pan on the oven rack below the cheese cake – while it bakes. This will make the cheese cake more moist.  To make cutting much easier, slice with unflavored dental floss.

You also can buy some kind of fruit to serve with the cheesecake – like the canned cherries, blueberries, etc.   Also serve with cool whip or you can buy the whipping cream and whip that up too. 

Crush the Graham Crackers

Crush the Graham Crackers

Mix butter and graham crackers

Mix butter and graham crackers

Press graham cracker mixture into pan

Press graham cracker mixture into pan

Mix together

Mix together

The master Cheesecake-er

The master Cheesecake-er

Pour into crust

Pour into crust

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

Cook with pan of water beneath

Cook with pan of water beneath

If top begins to burn – put a piece of aluminum foil on top.  My oven doesn’t regulate temperature very well, so my cheesecake baked in 40 minutes – check for firmness to see when it is cooked through.

Right out of the oven - cool for a few minutes, then take knife around edges.

Right out of the oven - cool for a few minutes, then take knife around edges.

Cooled down

Cooled down

Slice with unflavored dental floss

Slice with unflavored dental floss

Enjoy!

Enjoy!

See you in the Kitchen!

Katie

Comments
One Response to “Classic Sour Cream Cheesecake”
  1. You just think I make the best – you humor me. Funny thing was that I didn’t taste the cheese cakes that I made for about 10 years – not that I didn’t like them – I had a problem with milk making me sick. I didn’t get it right until i could actually taste them and then change them for the better.
    I had a great time cooking with you and have enjoyed it very much! mom.

Leave a Reply

