No-Cook Freezer Jam

Okay, so I really, really do like good, scrumptious jams and jellies.  I like them to still look, feel, smell, and taste like the actual fruit that they came from; slightly chunky and seedy.  Oh, that’s the best! (I might add here that I also like my orange juice SUPER fiber-y, hi pulp for me please!) (I also like fruit and vegetables skins and peels; potato skins on for me…so I am that type of person)

Well, this being said, I don’t actually consume a lot of jams and jellies because the good ones are always the expensive ones and usually aren’t in high demand (because of their chunkiness and the seediness I guess they are not very popular and therefore one is hard pressed to find them on the shelves).  😦

This is no longer a problem! I have discovered that I can make my own jams and jellies in the comfort of my own kitchen without requiring all the necessary canning equipment.

Sooo excited!

This is thanks to two ladies at Church who are/used to be SUPER ‘canners’.  …I still need to take up the offer of learning some of their expert canning skills!

One suggested that I try my hand at making no-cook freezer jam, which is what, in fact, I did! WO!

Why am I so excited?

  • Because…
  1. it is quick
  2. it is super easy
  3. it requires 3 ingredients (more if you combine different fruits)
  4. it is DELICIOUS
  5. I can make whatever flavor jams/jellies I feel inclined to make
  6. ummm did I mention it is DELICIOUS?
  7. you can put it in a nice jar, and give it as gifts
  8. you can FREEZE it, and it is good for up to a year
  9. it is tasty on bread, in crepes, on waffles, etc.
  10. you can get creative with flavors
  11. okay, here I will stop, but really, this is SO exciting for me 😀

Okay, okay, so how do you do this?

So, like I said you need three ingredients:

  • Fruit
  • Pectin (make sure that it will work with no-cook freezer jam; it will say)
  • Sugar or a sweetener

I used Ball RealFruit Pectin – Instant Pectin; but there are certainly other brands and kinds.  I found these packets at Smith’s in the canning section.  And guess what? THEY WERE ON SALE! $0.29! WHAT? Yeap, so I bought several….

$0.29

$0.29

Then I simply followed the recipe on the back. SO SIMPLE!

So, let’s get started!

  1. Using the recipe on your pectin, gather necessary ingredients and equipment.
  2. Chop your fruit to be used; you will want about 1 2/3 cups.  I have used strawberries and for another batch I used strawberries and apples.
  3. Mix about 2/3 cup sugar with the pectin.
  4. Add the fruit, stir for about 3 minutes.
  5. Ladle the jam into jars and let stand for about 30 minutes before eating or just stick it in the freezer to be used for later.

Pictures 😀

Strawberries ready to be choppped!

Strawberries ready to be chopped!

Strawberries ready to be chopped!

Strawberries ready to be chopped!

The Pectin

The Pectin

The Recipe

The Recipe

Using my Chopper!

Using my Chopper!

Using my Chopper!

Using my Chopper!

Using my Chopper!

Using my Chopper!

All Chopped!

All Chopped!

Mix sugar and pectin

Mix sugar and pectin

Mix in strawberries

Mix in strawberries

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Jam in our Jars!

Jam in our Jars!

I didn’t have enough mason jars…haha so this raspberry jar had to do.

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Strawberry Jam

Enjoying the jam on some toast!

Enjoying the jam on some toast!

See you in the kitchen!

Katie

 

Comments
2 Responses to “No-Cook Freezer Jam”
  1. mom says:

    MMMM………. that looks good Katie, I also like the red bowls !
    so do you put the jars in the freezer ?

Leave a Reply

