A Basic Yellow Cake

I have never made yellow cake from scratch.  The box is just so easy.  Then again, I rarely make the box one, because it just isn’t quite as delicious as homemade cakes.

However, the occasion came for me to try making a yellow cake.  My father’s birthday was this week and he will be coming into town to see me.  He is not a big fan of cakes and pies but he does enjoy Boston Cream Pie and cookies.  Since I believe everyone needs cake/pie for their birthday, my father is going to enjoy a homemade Boston Cream Pie from his daughter!

I haven’t assembled the whole cake quite yet (that is for tomorrow right before we eat it), but since I like this yellow cake so much, it deserves its own post so I can remember it!

The recipe for this deliciously yellowy cake is from a food blog called theKitchn, and the original recipe can be found here.

A Basic Yellow Cake

(makes either 1 9X13 cake or two 9-inch cakes)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 tbsp oil (optional – suggested by reviews, didn’t try it this time, but will for next)

Directions

I made two 9-inch cakes (and actually had batter left over to make 6 cupcakes!)

  • I like to oil the bottom and sides of pans, then cut a circle of wax paper to put at bottom of pan, and then oil the top of the wax paper.  This usually makes the cakes slide pop out of the pans easily.  But do whatever you find works!
  • In mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar.
  • Add in eggs.
  • Mix in the flour, salt, baking powder, milk and vanilla.
  • Pour into pans.
  • Back cakes for ~25-35 minutes.  Mine took about 35 minutes at 350°F.
  • Let cakes cool for ~15 minutes on cooling rack.  Then flip over cakes onto plates.
  • (I am not assembling my cakes until tomorrow, so I placed them on plates, put plastic wrap on top and placed them in the fridge. )
  • Decorate, frost the cakes however you desire! It will be delicious!

Pictures

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See you in the kitchen!

Katie

Comments
3 Responses to “A Basic Yellow Cake”
  1. mom says:

    Let me know how it turns out – mom.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] making the yellow cake, I had enough batter for six […]

  2. […] So for my father’s birthday.  I made his favorite cake/pie, I am not sure why it is called a pie, but anyways, a Boston Cream Pie! I pre-made the yellow cake (just one day before, and kept it in the fridge) to make the assembly much easier. Here are the instructions for the yellow cake.  […]



Leave a Reply

