Sour Cream Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Hello world!!!! It’s me Tope, you know, one of the original members of this blog who fell off the face of the earth over a year ago when I last posted this? Well, I. Am. Alive!!!!  There’s really no excuse for why I haven’t posted in a year and a half, mostly I was lazy, my bad.

So, what has happened in the past 19 months you asked?  Well I moved off campus into the big green house with Fiona, then we moved out of the big green house to the small pink house near the capitol.  I got a new job with a small local non-profit.  I finished my third semester of grad school (Katie and I graduate in May eek!) That’s about it.  Sorry my life isn’t cooler.

Any who, I have been promising Katie that I would blog for the last 19 months and I’m now finally doing it!  It is my new years resolution to contribute to this blog more often, but kudos to Katie for keeping this thing alive! So last week was our dear friend baby cochina, I mean Grace’s birthday.  It is our yearly tradition to all get together on everyone’s birthdays and eat cake while being generally ridiculous, and we continue on with that tradition.  Katie and I were in charge of the birthday cake, and I must say, it is A-W-E-S-O-M-E!  Ya’ll wish you could eat cake this good.  Well in fact you can, just follow the recipe below.

B-day Girl!

B-day Girl!

Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Adapted from Amanda’s Cookin

Makes 3 8-inch cakes

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, preferably Dutch process
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup oil – we used canola
1 cup sour cream → we had a little less than 1/2 a cup sour cream and added milk to equal 1 cup
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons distilled white vinegar → I’m convinced this is the key to an awesome chocolate cake
1 teaspoon vanilla extract → I always add extra vanilla
2 eggs

The original recipe also added 1/2 cup chopped peanut brittle but who wants crunchy bits in their cake?

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter the bottoms and sides of three 8-inch round cakepans. Line the bottom of each pan with a round of parchment or waxed paper and butter the paper. (the wax paper is important if you want smooth even layers, we didn’t do this so our cake was crumbly at the bottom).

Katie prepping cake pans - look how excited she is

Katie prepping cake pans – look how excited she is

2. Sift first 5 ingredients (through salt) into a large bowl and whisk together. Add oil and sour cream and mix well. Gradually beat in the water. Add in the vinegar and vanilla. Whisk in the eggs and beat until well blended. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and be sure the batter is well mixed. Divide among the 3 prepared cake pans (fill about 1/2 – 2/3 full).

3. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool on wire rack for about 20 minutes.  Remove from pans and let cool completely.

4. We choose to not layer the cake this time but if you do want to layer flip cakes upside down (so the flat surface is up – you could even cut a thin layer off the top to even out if you want it to be perfect).  Add a large dollop of peanut butter frosting (recipe below) and smooth out.  Add next cake layer and repeat.  Note: this cake is quite soft and crumbly, so it will be difficult to get a smooth crumb-free frosting layer, so I would suggest going rustic. 

Peanut Butter Frosting

adapted from allrecipes.com

1/2 cup butter – softened

1 cup creamy peanut butter →we used Kroger brand honey roasted creamy peanut butter, it’s awesome

3 TBSP milk, more if needed → we ended up using probably 5-6 Tbsp to get the desired consistency

3 cups confectioner sugar

1 tsp (ish) vanilla extract

Mixing the frosting

Mixing the frosting

1. Place butter and peanut butter in a bowl and beat with an electric mixer until combined.

2. Slowly add in sugar and when it starts to get thick, add milk 1 tbsp at a time.  Add Vanilla.

Note: it is important when making this frosting that your butter is at room temperature!

Rather than worrying about frosting the cake, we just added a spoonful on top of each cake.  It will blow your mind!

Finished product - don't let the poor picture quality fool you.  It's so good!

Finished product – don’t let the poor picture quality fool you. It’s so good!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this post and will try the recipe soon! This was not in fact the post I promised Katie, but alas, I have to get ready for work so I’ll leave you with a few teaser photos. Get excited!

photo-7photo-6Friends 015

See you soon (I promise!) – Tope

Leave a Reply

