Mongolian Beef

I have now been married for THREE weeks!!! Wow, I cannot believe that it has gone by so very quickly! What this now means is that I am trying to expand my cooking knowledge because now I am cooking for two. My husband is a wonderful cook as well so that is certainly a bonus, but I want to get out of the routine of making the same 5 or 6 dishes all the time. So I came across this recipe from the blog With a Cherry on Top so I decided that I should try and cook Mongolian Beef.

It was absolutely delicious and I have copied the recipe below and changed it just a little.

Soooo goood! And what is nice is that you can change the vegetable to whatever you like! I used green peppers this time, but of course broccoli works and anything you like!

Mongolian Beef

Ingredients
1 lb. Stir-Fry Beef or Flank Steak
1/2 cup Corn Starch
Vegetable Oil, to cook beef and veges
1/2 Tsp. Ginger, grated (I didn’t have fresh on hand so I used powdered ginger)
1 Tbsp. Garlic, minced (I like garlic so I used a few cloves)
1/2 cup Water
1/2 cup Soy Sauce (used low-sodium, helps a little :D)
1/2 cup Brown Sugar (is a little sweet with 1/2 cup, could be reduced to a 1/3 but 1/2 was good!)
3/4 Tsp. Red Pepper Flakes
Green Onions, sliced thinly
Sesame Seeds

Directions
Pat meat dry with a paper towel and add to a medium bowl. Add corn starch to meat and toss to coat (ensure that each piece is coated to cook properly). I had to add corn starch at the end when I added the sauce to thicken it. Mix equal parts water and corn starch together and then add to pan.

In a large wok or skillet, heat oil over med-high heat. Add the garlic and ginger, stirring until fragrant. Add in the soy sauce, water, brown sugar and red pepper flakes. Cook until combined (approximately 2 minutes). Transfer sauce to a bowl. – The red pepper flakes add quite a bit of heat to this dish, so use sparingly or omit if you do not prefer spicy food.

Heat the remaining oil in the same pan over high and add the beef. Cook until browned on all sides.  Add vegetables. Pour the sauce back into the pan and cook until it thickens to your desired consistency (approximately 3-5 minutes). Add in green onions, stir, and remove from heat. Serve over rice and top with more green onions and sesame seeds.

so good!

 

See you in the kitchen,

 

KatiePhoto0302

Leave a Reply

